Subject: bin/32100: confusing documentation about different versions of FFS
To: None <,>
From: Pavel Cahyna <>
List: netbsd-bugs
Date: 11/17/2005 21:46:00
>Number:         32100
>Category:       bin
>Synopsis:       confusing documentation about different versions of FFS
>Confidential:   no
>Severity:       non-critical
>Priority:       medium
>Responsible:    bin-bug-people
>State:          open
>Class:          doc-bug
>Submitter-Id:   net
>Arrival-Date:   Thu Nov 17 21:46:00 +0000 2005
>Originator:     Pavel Cahyna
>Release:        NetBSD 3.0_BETA
System: NetBSD beta 3.0_BETA NetBSD 3.0_BETA (BETA) #4: Fri Oct 7 21:20:07 CEST 2005 root@beta:/usr/src/sys/arch/alpha/compile/BETA alpha
Architecture: alpha
Machine: alpha
The fsck_ffs man page documents five levels of FFS filesystems in the
description of the -c option. The newfs man page documents a -O option
to choose filesystem format, which has three possibilities. One is
UFS2, the mapping between the remaining two and the five levels in
fsck_ffs is unclear. Also, it would be nice to say in which release
the respective formats appeared.

dumpfs for a filesystem image created with newfs -O0 shows that the fs
level is 1, which is consistent with code inspection. So please:
- add this text after "The file system is in the new (dynamic table)
format." in fsck_ffs(8):

Such file systems are made by the -O 0 option to the newfs(8) command.

- add this text after "The file system supports 32-bit UIDs and GIDs,

This format was introduced in 4.4BSD.

- add this text after "If maxcontig is greater than one, build the
free segment maps ...": 

This was the default before NetBSD 2.0 .

- add this text after "Rearrange the super block to the same layout as
UFS2;..." :

Such file systems are made by the -O 1 option to the newfs(8) command
in NetBSD 2.0 and newer versions and are compatible with NetBSD
1.6.<please fill in>. 

The UFS2 file system is level 5, but conversion to UFS2 from previous
versions is not possible.

- change the description of -O in newfs(8) to:

                 Select the filesystem-format (also called level)
                       0    4.3BSD (level 1); This option is primarily used to build
                            root file systems that can be understood by older
                            boot ROMs.
                       1    FFS (level 4); normal fast-filesystem (default).
                       2    UFS2 (level 5); enhanced fast-filesystem (suited for more
                            than 1 Terabyte capacity).
                 To convert between formats (levels) use the
                 fsck_ffs(8) utility. 
                 To create an LFS filesystem see newfs_lfs(8).

(this change also removes the claim about access control lists, which
NetBSD does not support.)