Subject: bootstrap kit fix for Darwin
To: None <>
From: grant beattie <>
List: tech-pkg
Date: 02/16/2003 03:09:44
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Disposition: inline

As per the commit message, I have fixed Darwin's, which was
blindly overriding almost every variable (eg. CFLAGS, LDFLAGS,

I expect a large number of packages which were previously broken on
Darwin will now build.

To update, replace your ${PREFIX}/share/mk/ with rev 1.2 of


Content-Type: message/rfc822
Content-Disposition: inline

	by (8.11.6/8.11.6) with SMTP id h1FG0Xj08748
	for <>; Sun, 16 Feb 2003 03:00:33 +1100 (EST)
  by with SMTP; 15 Feb 2003 16:00:04 -0000
	id 93470B004; Sat, 15 Feb 2003 18:00:02 +0200 (EET)
From: grant beattie <>
Subject: CVS commit: othersrc/bootstrap-pkgsrc/mods/mk
Message-Id: <>
Date: Sat, 15 Feb 2003 18:00:02 +0200 (EET)

Module Name:	othersrc
Committed By:	grant
Date:		Sat Feb 15 16:00:02 UTC 2003

Modified Files:

Log Message:
update this to the "new" template (8.2 Berkeley), as used by the
other platforms.

specifically, we use VAR?= now instead of VAR= so as not to blat
any variables which are set in package Makefiles.

(how this problem survived so long without being noticed is
completely beyond me!).

To generate a diff of this commit:
cvs rdiff -r1.1 -r1.2 othersrc/bootstrap-pkgsrc/mods/mk/

Please note that diffs are not public domain; they are subject to the
copyright notices on the relevant files.