Subject: Re: removing directories with modified configuration files
To: NetBSD-techpkg <>
From: Xavier HUMBERT <>
List: tech-pkg
Date: 09/10/2002 00:57:15 (Klaus Heinz) wrote :

> Is this the recommended way? Or should the warning above be visible to
> the end user?

Anyway, you always have to follow PLIST mechanism, in oder to NOT delete
files added or changed by the user.

Just because there's actually no "real" update mechanism.

make update is (imho) awful since it deinstalls recursively all

The less harmful way is pkg_delete + make reinstall, but there is still
a delete stage. No update "in place".

So, always take care.