Subject: ntpd default change
To: None <>
From: Christos Zoulas <>
List: current-users
Date: 01/16/2004 17:56:40

People who use windows ntp clients [and other unauthenticated clients]
served by netbsd ntp servers will notice after upgrading ntpd to current
their clients cannot sync anymore.

So that others don't spend time debugging this:

1. Authentication in the new version of ntp is turned on by default;
   you'll have to turn it off. The option to do this has also changed.
   If you had in your config file "authenticate no" should change it
   to "disable auth".
2. "restrict notrust" means don't trust unauthenticated packets, so remove
   notrust from your restrict line. This seemed to work fine before
   with "authenticate no".

Of course, you should only do this if you really need to. If your
clients can authenticate, you should keep authentication on.

I hope this is useful,