Subject: Re: Security Issues
To: None <>
From: None <>
List: current-users
Date: 08/01/2002 17:22:50
------- =_aaaaaaaaaa0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-ID: <>

>On Thu, Aug 01, 2002 at 05:14:49PM +0900, wrote:
>> >I've seen last days three security advisories from FreeBSD (problems with 
>> >OpenSSL, pppd and rpc) but none from NetBSD. Is NetBSD unaffected by these 
>> >three bugs ?
>> 	yes for all, and advisories are under preparation.
>IMHO you meant to say NO, because we are affected by them.

	you are correct, we are affected for all 3 problems.

>But I didn't saw a commit for the pppd problem, so maybe we are only affected
>by the rpc and openssl one.

	you missed this one?


------- =_aaaaaaaaaa0
Content-Type: message/rfc822
Content-ID: <>

	by (Postfix) with SMTP id A78D14B24
	for <>; Wed, 31 Jul 2002 23:59:48 +0900 (JST)
  by with SMTP; 31 Jul 2002 14:59:12 -0000
	id A1398B004; Wed, 31 Jul 2002 17:59:11 +0300 (EEST)
From: Christos Zoulas <>
Subject: CVS commit: basesrc/usr.sbin/pppd/pppd
Message-Id: <>
Date: Wed, 31 Jul 2002 17:59:11 +0300 (EEST)

Module Name:	basesrc
Committed By:	christos
Date:		Wed Jul 31 14:59:11 UTC 2002

Modified Files:
	basesrc/usr.sbin/pppd/pppd: tty.c

Log Message:
don't try to chmod if fchmod fails when restoring the original tty modes.
It could cause a symlink race. Just report the fchmod failure. Reported
by itojun, found in FreeBSD.

To generate a diff of this commit:
cvs rdiff -r1.2 -r1.3 basesrc/usr.sbin/pppd/pppd/tty.c

Please note that diffs are not public domain; they are subject to the
copyright notices on the relevant files.

------- =_aaaaaaaaaa0--